Malaysia, country of Southeast Asia, lying just north of the Equator, that is composed of two noncontiguous regions: Peninsular Malaysia(Semenanjung Malaysia), also called West Malaysia (Malaysia Barat), which is on the Malay Peninsula, and East Malaysia (Malaysia Timur), which is on the island of Borneo. The Malaysian capital, Kuala Lumpur, lies in the western part of the peninsula, about 25 miles (40 km) from the coast; the administrative centre, Putrajaya, is located about 16 miles (25 km) south of the capital.

Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.

Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.J. Apicella/Cesar Pelli & Associates

MalaysiaAn overview of Malaysia.Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.

Malaysia, a member of the Commonwealth, represents the political marriage of territories that were formerly under British rule. When it was established on September 16, 1963, Malaysia comprised the territories of Malaya (now Peninsular Malaysia), the island of Singapore, and the colonies of Sarawak and Sabah in northern Borneo. In August 1965 Singapore seceded from the federation and became an independent republic.

MalaysiaEncyclopædia Britannica, Inc.

MalaysiaAn overview of the land, people, and economy of Malaysia.Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.